Best Practices Conference


2018 Best Practices Conference

Presented by Professional Developers of Iowa and Mid-America EDC

May 1-3, 2018
Des Moines, Iowa



Thank you to all that attended the


2018 Best Practices Conference in Des Moines!



Below are the links to the Speaker Bios, Handouts and Presentations from the
2018 Best Practices Conference

If you are utilizing any data from this year’s conference presentations, please be sure to cite the source of the data.

2018 Best Practices Program

2018 Speaker Spotlights Bios

2018 Best Practices List of Attendees


Tuesday, May 1st

General Session/Keynote:  The Age of the Multigenerational Workforce

  - Kim Lear, Inlay Insights, Minneapolis, MN - HANDOUT

Concurrent Programming:
Option #1:  Workforce Housing Panel Discussion -

- Eric Burmeister, Polk County Housing Trust Fund, Des Moines, IA

  - Tom Deimerly, Marshall Economic Development Impact Committee, Marshalltown, IA
  - Frank Liebl, Newton Development Corporation, Newton, IA
  - Glenn Lyons, MCIP, 571 Polson Developments LLC, Des Moines, IA


Option #2:  The Marketing Forum:  Creative and Effective Strategies for Small and Large  EDOs

- James Hoelscher, CecD, University of Northern Iowa - Institute of Decision Making, Cedar Falls, IA

  - Emily Abbas, Bankers Trust, Des Moines, IA
  - Kelly Halsted, Greater Fort Dodge Growth Alliance, Fort Dodge, IA
  - Kristine Thompson, Greater Des Moines Partnership, Des Moines, IA
  - Aaron Brossoit, Golden Shovel Agency, Little Falls MN


Thursday, May 3rd

Redevelopment Panel

- Matthew A. Anderson, City of Des Moines, Des Moines, IA

  - Chris Costa, Knapp Properties, Des Moines, IA HANDOUT
  - Kris Saddoris, Hubbell Realty Company, Des Moines, IA
  - Jake Christensen, Christensen Development, Des Moines, IA


Prepared Communities Win Initiative

  - Patty Huddle, Columbus 2020, Columbus, OH HANDOUT

Entrepreneurship & Innovation Panel - HANDOUT

- Tej Dhawan, Principal Financial Group, Des Moines, IA

  - Brian Hemesath, Global Insurance Accelerator, Des Moines, IA
  - Megan Vollstedt, Iowa AgriTech Accelerator, Des Moines, IA
  - Michael Colwell, Greater Des Moines Partnership, Des Moines, IA



Thank you to our 2018 Best Practices Conference Sponsors!